Download PDF

On this page…
Create Cataloging Screens
Change Field Labels in Cataloging Screens
Create Read-Only Access Using Cataloging Screens
Delete Cataloging Screens

Create Cataloging Screens

Cataloging screens are used as the visual element to seeing and editing your metadata. While catalogers can see the metadata for records in the asset panel, the cataloging screen is required when accessing individual records or records in bulk to manage the data in the edit tab. Multiple cataloging screens can be created for a project, each with a different purpose. It’s always recommended that project administrators have access a complete cataloging screen that represents every field in the project in order to oversee data management. For that reason, pre-built cataloging screens are provided when using any of the project templates to establish your metadata schema. You may edit or remove these pre-built cataloging screens just as you can for any other screens.

To add a new cataloging screen:

  1. Select your project from the project panel and navigate to the Cataloging Screens tab at the top of the window.
  2. In the left box called Cataloging Screens, click Add.
  3. In the dialog window, enter a unique cataloging screen name and click OK.
  4. Select the newly created cataloging screen name, then click Add fields in the box to the right.
  5. In the dialog window, add fields to the cataloging screen by selecting the field name and clicking Add fields.  You may select a single field, or use shift+click to select successive or ctrl+click to select random available fields.
  6. After the fields are added, use drag and drop to re-order the field list.
  7. Select a field and click Edit field.
    • In the dialog window, use the # Per Row dropdown to add multiple fields to one layout row. The default setting is one field per row, in which each field will expand across the entire layout. Adding multiple fields to a row (either 2 or 3) will decrease the physical size of the field to fit the layout. Remember to change the adjacent fields so the correct number appears on the row (e.g. is a field is set to 2 per row, change the field either before or after it in the list to make that also 2 per row).
  8. Click Save to apply the changes to the field’s appearance in the cataloging screen.

Important:

  • Remember to update Permissions for catalogers that are expected to see the new cataloging screen; administrators are defaulted to see all edits and screens added to the project.
  • When you copy an existing project, the cataloging screen layouts will duplicate in your new project. Remember to review and manage the cataloging screens for any changes in the new project.

Click here for some tips on creating easy-to-use Cataloging Screens

Change Field Labels in Cataloging Screens

You can customize the label and description of any or all fields for a particular cataloging screen, without impacting the field label at the project level. For example, the Creator field can be changed to “Architect” in a particular cataloging screen that has been designed for describing images of architecture.

To change a field label or description in the cataloging screen:

  1. Select the screen that the field appears on the left, then select the field from the list on the right, and then click the Edit field button.
  2. Enter the preferred field label and/or description and click Save. The default description used will be what is set for the field, but you can optionally edit the description to be unique to individual cataloging screens.

Important:

  • Deleting a field from a cataloging screen only deletes it from the layout and NOT the project. However, deleting a field from a project deletes it from all cataloging screens.

Create Read-only Access Using Cataloging Screens

Project administrators can limit a cataloger’s access to certain fields in the project through cataloging screens. If a cataloger is required to have access to certain fields, but cannot edit those fields, you can create an entirely read-only screen or set certain fields to be read-only.

To set a field as read-only:

  1. Select the project and navigate to the Cataloging Screen tab.
  2. Follow the steps to create a new cataloging screen or select an existing screen that you would like to edit.
  3. In the box on the right, select the field to restrict and click Edit field.
  4. In the dialog window, uncheck the box for “Editable”, and click Save.
  5. Repeat for any/all fields you wish to restrict.

Important:

  • Remember to assign this cataloging screen to the user’s account so they’re given the correct access.

Delete Cataloging Screens

If a cataloging screen is no longer needed, deleting it does not delete any of the data in the project. Cataloging screens can be added, edited, or deleted independent of the project’s content, and is just used as a point of access to the metadata.

To delete a cataloging screen:

  1. Under the Cataloging Screens tab, select the screen name from the box on the left.
  2. Click Delete at the top of the box.

Likewise, fields may be deleted from a cataloging screen independent of deleting the field from the project. For more information on how to delete fields from a project, check out [link].

To delete a field from a cataloging screen:

  1. Under the Cataloging Screens tab, select the screen name from the box on the left.
  2. In the box on the right, find the field from the list available.
  3. Select the field and click Delete field at the top of the box.